March 11, 2012: The Third Sunday of Lent

March 11, 2012 § Leave a comment

On Sundays in Lent, this blog will adopt a different approach. Instead of a devotional reading of Scripture, you will find a quote from the Christian classic, The Imitation of Christ. These passages will be selected to go along with the themes of Lent: fasting, repentance, prayer, and service. Our faith is one of action; allow these selections and the Holy Spirit to move you accordingly.

The Voice of Christ: “Remain tranquil and prepare to bear still greater trials. All is not lost even though you be troubled oftener or tempted more grievously. You are a man, not God. You are flesh, not an angel. How can you possibly expect to remain always in the same state of virtue when the angels in heaven and the first man in paradise failed to do so? I am He Who rescues the afflicted and brings to My divinity those who know their own weakness.”

The Disciple: “Blessed be your words, O Lord, sweeter to my mouth than honey and the honeycomb. What would I do in such great trials and anxieties, if You did not strengthen me with Your holy words? If I may but attain to the haven of salvation, what does it matter what or how much I suffer? Grant me a good end. Grant me a happy passage out of this world. Remember me, my God, and lead me by the right way into Your Kingdom.”

Thomas a Kempis, The Imitation of Christ: “A Man Should Not Be Too Downcast When He Falls Into Defects.” Translated by Aloysius Croft and Harold Bolton. Peabody: Hendrickson, 2004

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading March 11, 2012: The Third Sunday of Lent at Seth Asher.

meta

